GPA: GPA or Grade-Point Average is an indicator that helps show where your child performs academically with other students in not only their high school but outside of their school as well. It’s calculated on a point basis and adds a single decimal point if necessary. Most standard GPAs will go to a 4.0 scale but with some schools, it can be up to 5.0, and with advanced classes that can be boosted up to a 6.0 GPA scale which we’ll touch on later in this area. Again it depends on what scale your school uses, but for example, a 95 in an advanced class can mean 3.5, 4.5, or 5.5. Now it may seem a little confusing at first, but let’s go through an example provided below:


For context, in this example we’ll go all the way up to 6.0 Scale, and below you’ll see a student’s class schedule and the grades they got in that class at the end of the semester. It also coincides with the GPA they have for that class. In the student’s school it’s required to take 8 classes in total. 


Pre-ap English l : 91 = 5.1

Pre-ap Geometry: 98 = 5.8

Pre-ap Biology: 94 = 5.4

World History: 96 = 4.6

P.E.(Physical Education or Gym): 100 = 5

Comp Science l: 100 = 5

Pre-ap Spanish ll: 95 = 5.5

Engineering: 93 = 5.3


GPA = 


Okay, let’s break this down one by one. You’ll see that grades are converted into GPAs and you may notice decimal points in the GPA. All it represents is the value that is in the one’s  place of the raw grade. There’s also this thing called Pre-ap, which is basically an advanced version of the class and uses a GPA scale of 6.



Remember that GPA is an important measure of success and the higher your GPA the higher your class ranks, the higher your class rank means you will have a better chance of going into a good college.